HBO show alert: Girls (set in fabulous NYC)

Is anyone else excited about Girls? I’m such a loser so obsessed with NYC that I get really excited whenever I spot a new show set in manhattan or brooklyn. I won’t necessarily like it, but I will at least watch the pilot. I think it all started with Ghostwriter. Anyways, this show premiers tonight on HBO so make sure you tune in or stream it illegally!

Here, watch the trailer 

As you can see, the show focuses on the shenanigans of four 20-something girls living in NYC. Sounds a bit like a Sex And The City prequel to you? Maaaybe a little bit. Especially with all the sex… in the city *face-palm*. It looks more promising and realistic than The Carrie Diaries, which is the legit SATC prequel, but not even close to the awesomeness that is How To Make It In America. In Girls, Lena Dunham (also the writer of the show) stars as Hannah Horvath, along with Jemima Kirke as Jessa Johansson; Allison Williams as Marnie Michaels, and Zosia Mamet as Shoshanna Shapiro. Never heard of any of them? Me neither. They’re cool,educated young white girls living, working, hanging out in NYC. The show seems interesting and, as far as the trailer goes, I have many positive things to say but also many criticisms.

For one, I do strongly identify with the main character (Hannah) in more than one way. She’s a 24 year old woman, recently out of university, overeducated, with no real job, working an unpaid internship, financially supported by her parents, dating an asshole, and a bit overweight. Hello? That’s definitely me!

I would also like to point out how refreshing it is that the main character is not your typical thin, blonde, stereotypically pretty woman. She also doesn’t seem to care. She walks around  in her underwear. We also see her topless. And it’s great to see a heavier yet completely normal body on screen and not make a big fuss about it.

I think this show is also very relevant in terms of what young recent graduates experience these days: a delay of adulthood, an extended period of parental financial dependence, and struggle to find a paid position for which you are not overqualified or overeducated.

BUT the show is so fricking white. Hannah and her family are white. Her boyfriend is white. Her friends are white. Her boss is white. What.the.fuck. New York is so freaking multi-racial and multi-cultural that if only for the sake of realism, they should have casted a few black, asian, and latino characters. No?

I know this show is already aimed at an elite audience (over educated rich woman trying to find themselves) but why does it have to be all white? I can help but to feel excluded. It kind of reminds me of something a chilean old man told me once while selling me a necklace in a shop near my house: “White people like to hang with white people, people of colour like to hang with people of colour… white people may act as though they accept you but the truth is they never will”.

That’s exactly what I feel with this show:

“Ohhh cool this show is TOTALLY ME!”

“Damn it, they’re all white… I guess it’s not totally me, just a little bit me. Is it? Hmm…”

Hmm…

Update:

I have just watched it and I must say I’m very disappointed. Hannah is just some whiny girl crying because she will no longer be financially supported by her parents, can’t afford manhattan anymore, but doesn’t want to get a job. Oh and the only character of colour is this black homeless man. The show should be called White Girls. I still don’t know how I feel about it though. I watched the 2nd episode and it seems like this show just became a second guilty pleasure, just like Gossip Girl. Girls is much more clever than GG – not that that would be hard – but I for some reason expected it to be more. Unfortunately, Girls is yet another show exploring the lives of privileged characters.

Leave a Reply

